Calder Cup Champions - 2013 & 2017
AHL Affiliate of the Detroit Red Wings
Hero Image

Lord Stanley and The Griffins

Thirty-five Griffins players and two coaches have earned the right to have their names engraved on the Stanley Cup at some point during their careers, including 19 who earned the honor after their time in Grand Rapids. In 2023, Vegas head coach Bruce Cassidy became the first former Grand Rapids coach to win the cup, four years after he achieved another milestone as the first to coach in a Stanley Cup Final when his 2018-19 Boston team lost to St. Louis in seven games. He is the second Griffins alum to win the cup as a coach, joining Colorado head coach and former Grand Rapids defenseman Jared Bednar in 2022. Also in 2022, Avalanche center Darren Helm – a 2008 Stanley Cup champion with the Detroit Red Wings – joined Tomas Kopecky (2008 Detroit, 2010 Chicago) as the only alumni to win a pair of Stanley Cups as players after leaving Grand Rapids.

Tampa Bay assistant general manager Stacy Roest became a member of the club, and the first in a non-playing role, when the Lightning defeated Dallas in the 2020 Stanley Cup Final, and Tampa Bay's repeat in 2021 over Montreal made him only the second alum to win two cups after leaving Grand Rapids. The names of Griffins alumni have been added to the cup in each of the last four years, ten times in the last 16 years, and 12 times in the last 19 seasons. In addition, former Griffins assistant coach Jim Paek (2005-14) won a pair of cups as a defenseman for the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1991 and 1992.

Griffins stanley cup
PlayerPositionStanley CupsGriffins Season(s)
*Kevyn AdamsC1 (2006 Carolina)1996-97
*Dmitry AfanasenkovLW1 (2004 Tampa Bay)2001-02
*Jared BednarD1 (2022 Colorado Head Coach)1998-99
Madison BoweyD1 (2018 Washington)2019-20
*Sheldon BrookbankD1 (2013 Chicago)2001-03
*Bruce CassidyHead Coach1 (2023 Vegas Head Coach)2001-03
Chris CheliosD3 (1986 Montreal, 2002 and 2008 Detroit)2008-09
Alex ChiassonRW1 (2018 Washington)2022-23
Daniel ClearyRW1 (2008 Detroit)2015-16
Danton ColeRW/C1 (1995 New Jersey)1996-00
Aaron DowneyRW1 (2008 Detroit)2008-09
*Mark EatonD1 (2009 Pittsburgh)2004-05
*Valterri FilppulaC1 (2008 Detroit)2005-07
*Darren HelmC2 (2008 Detroit, 2022 Colorado)2007-09; 13-14
*Jiri HudlerF1 (2008 Detroit)2003-06
*Chris KellyC1 (2011 Boston)2001-02
Mike KnubleRW1 (1998 Detroit)2012-13
*Tomas KopeckyLW2 (2008 Detroit, 2010 Chicago)2002-06
*Niklas KronwallD1 (2008 Detroit)2003-06
*Brett LebdaD1 (2008 Detroit)2003-06
Manny LegaceG1 (2002 Detroit)2005-06
Andreas LiljaD1 (2008 Detroit)2009-10
Brad MayLW1 (2007 Anaheim)2009-10
*Darren McCartyRW4 (1997-98, 2002, and 2008 Detroit)2007-09
Marty McSorleyD2 (1987-88 Edmonton)2000-01
*Derek MeechD1 (2008 Detroit)2004-08;10-11
Drew MillerLW1 (2007 Anaheim)2016-17
*Chris OsgoodG3 (1997-98 and 2008 Detroit)2005-06
Jim PaekAsst. Coach2 (1991-92 Pittsburgh)2005-14
*Kevin PorterC1 (2016 Pittsburgh)2014-15
Pokey ReddickG1 (1990 Edmonton)1996-98
*Stacy RoestC2 (2020-21 Tampa Bay Assistant GM)2002-03
*Darren RumbleD1 (2004 Tampa Bay)1998-00
Mikael SamuelssonRW1 (2008 Detroit)2013-14
Blake SloanRW1 (1999 Dallas)2003-05
Jakub VranaLW1 (2018 Washington)2022-23
Jason WilliamsC1 (2002 Detroit)2002-03

* Won a Stanley Cup after playing for or coaching the Griffins

Note: Former Griffins Mark Hartigan (2007 Anaheim) and *Scott Parse (2012 Los Angeles) are credited by the NHL with having won the cup but did not have their names engraved on the trophy.