Calder Cup Champions - 2013 & 2017
AHL Affiliate of the Detroit Red Wings
Hero Image

Ford returns as captain

Oct 05, 2018
Written By: EdenCreative

The 12th captain in franchise history, Matthew Ford embarks on his second campaign wearing the “C.” The third-year Griffin will be joined by alternate captains Brian Lashoff, Dylan McIlrath, Wade Megan and Chris Terry.

Matthew Ford
Third season as a Griffin…11th year pro…Helped Grand Rapids win the Calder Cup in 2017 as an alternate captain…Compiled 73 points (36-37—73) in 123 games as a Griffin…12 power play goals in 2017-18 tied for the seventh most in franchise history in a single season…Grand Rapids’ active leader in goals…Totaled 379 points (185-194—379) in 603 career AHL contests.

Brian Lashoff
10th season as a Griffin…Ninth year pro…Won the 2013 and 2017 Calder Cups with Grand Rapids, one of only three players in franchise history to be a part of both championships (Mitch Callahan, Nathan Paetsch)…Places second on the Griffins in both Calder Cup Playoff games (73) and regular season games (400)…Became the 126th Griffins alumnus to play in the NHL when he debuted with Detroit and registered his first goal in the same game, 1/21/13 at CBJ…Appeared in 123 career NHL games with the Red Wings.

Dylan McIlrath
Third season as a Griffin…Seventh year pro…Helped Grand Rapids win the 2017 Calder Cup after being acquired via trade in March…2017 Calder Cup champion with Grand Rapids…Established a career high with seven goals while tying a career mark with 17 points in 2017-18…Led the Griffins with 119 PIM in 2017-18…10th overall selection in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft by the New York Rangers…Appeared in 43 NHL contests between New York and Florida.

Wade Megan
First season as a Griffin…Sixth year pro…In 2016-17 with Chicago, named to the AHL First All-Star Team and won the Willie Marshall Award as the league’s leading goal scorer (33)…Totaled one goal in four NHL appearances with St. Louis…Helped Cincinnati reach the ECHL Kelly Cup Finals in 2014 while playing under head coach Ben Simon.

Chris Terry
First season as a Griffin…10th year pro…Won the John B. Sollenberger Trophy as the AHL’s leading scorer with a career-high 71 points in 2017-18…Named to the 2017-18 AHL First All-Star Team…Selected to the 2016-17 AHL Second All-Star Team…Two-time selection to the AHL All-Star Game (2018, 2012)…Scored 60 or more points five times in his AHL career…Notched 30 or more goals three times in his AHL career…Tallied 38 points in 152 career NHL games between Carolina and Montreal.