Skip to main content

Calder Cup Champions -'13 '17

Official site of the Grand Rapids Griffins

Lord Stanley and the Griffins

DR3 9233 12x8

Thirty-two Griffins players have had their names engraved on the Stanley Cup at some point during their careers, including 17 who earned the honor after playing for Grand Rapids. Tampa Bay assistant general manager Stacy Roest became the latest member of that club, and the first in a non-playing role, when the Lightning defeated Dallas in the 2020 Stanley Cup Final, and Tampa Bay's repeat in 2021 over Montreal made him only the second alum to win two cups after leaving Grand Rapids. The names of Griffins alumni have been added to the cup in eight of the last 14 years and in 10 of the last 17 seasons. In addition, former Griffins assistant coach Jim Paek (2005-14) won a pair of cups as a defenseman for the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1991 and 1992.

PlayerPositionStanley CupsGriffins Season(s)
*Kevyn AdamsC1 (2006 Carolina)1996-97
*Dmitry AfanasenkovLW1 (2004 Tampa Bay)2001-02
Madison BoweyD1 (2018 Washington)2019-20

*Sheldon Brookbank

D1 (2013 Chicago)2001-03
Chris CheliosD3 (1986 Montreal, 2002 and 2008 Detroit)2008-09
Daniel ClearyRW1 (2008 Detroit)2015-16
Danton ColeRW/C1 (1995 New Jersey)1996-00
Aaron Downey


1 (2008 Detroit)2008-09
*Mark EatonD1 (2009 Pittsburgh)2004-05
*Valtteri FilppulaC1 (2008 Detroit)2005-07
*Darren HelmC1 (2008 Detroit)2007-09;13-14
*Jiri HudlerF1 (2008 Detroit)2003-06
*Chris KellyC1 (2011 Boston)2001-02
Mike KnubleRW1 (1998 Detroit)2012-13
*Tomas KopeckyLW2 (2008 Detroit, 2010 Chicago)2002-06
*Niklas KronwallD1 (2008 Detroit)2003-06
*Brett LebdaD1 (2008 Detroit)2003-06
Manny LegaceG1 (2002 Detroit)2005-06
Andreas LiljaD1 (2008 Detroit)2009-10
Brad MayLW1 (2007 Anaheim)2009-10
*Darren McCartyRW4 (1997-98, 2002 and 2008 Detroit)2007-09
Marty McSorleyD2 (1987-88 Edmonton)2000-01
*Derek MeechD1 (2008 Detroit)2004-08;10-11
Drew MillerLW1 (2007 Anaheim)2016-17
*Chris OsgoodG3 (1997-98 and 2008 Detroit)2005-06
*Kevin PorterC1 (2016 Pittsburgh)2014-15
Pokey ReddickG1 (1990 Edmonton)1996-98
*Stacy RoestC2 (2020-21 Tampa Bay assistant GM)2002-03
*Darren RumbleD1 (2004 Tampa Bay)1998-00
Mikael SamuelssonRW1 (2008 Detroit)2013-14
Blake SloanRW1 (1999 Dallas)2003-05
Jason WilliamsC1 (2002 Detroit)2002-03

* Won a Stanley Cup after playing for the Griffins

Note: Former Griffins Mark Hartigan (2007 Anaheim) and *Scott Parse (2012 Los Angeles) are credited by the NHL with having won the cup but did not have their names engraved on the trophy.

Get tickets, live scores, stats, highlights, player interviews & more!