Skip to main content

Calder Cup Champions -'13 '17

Official site of the Grand Rapids Griffins

Griffins Flashback: June 13

Take a look back at this date in Griffins history.

June 13, 2017
The Griffins win their second Calder Cup in five seasons, rallying from a 3-2 deficit with third-period goals by playoff MVP Tyler Bertuzzi – his franchise-record 23rd career playoff goal – and Martin Frk to triumph 4-3 over Syracuse in Game 6 and become just the fifth active AHL franchise to claim multiple Calder Cup titles. Mitch Callahan, Brian Lashoff and captain Nathan Paetsch each hoist the cup for the second time as Griffins, while Todd Nelson – the first player signed by the Griffins in 1996 – becomes just the third person ever to win the Calder Cup as a player (1994 Portland), assistant coach (2008 Chicago) and head coach. Grand Rapids finishes the playoffs with a 10-0 mark at Van Andel Arena, making it just the fourth team in AHL history to forge a 10-game home winning streak in a single postseason, and becomes the first AHL team since 2006 to defeat three division champions in the playoffs. (Photos)

Get tickets, live scores, stats, highlights, player interviews & more!